

TEXAS ASSOCIATION FOR INSTITUTIONAL RESEARCH

36th Annual Conference Minutes of the Annual Business Meeting Wednesday, February 20, 2014 – 3:00 p.m. Crowne Plaza Hotel Addison, Texas

2014-1 Call to Order: The meeting was called to order at 3:00 pm by President Susan Thompson.

2014-2 Approval of the Minutes from the 2013 Business Meeting: Amy Bawcom moved to approve the 2013 Business Meeting minutes as presented. The motion was seconded by Soon Merz and passed unanimously.

2014-3 Comments from the TAIR President: President Susan Thompson thanked each of the sponsors for sponsoring various events for the conference.

2014-4 Amendments to the Constitution and Bylaws: President Susan Thompson asked the membership to review the five proposed amendments to the bylaws presented via email and distributed in the packets and said we would vote on each separately.

- **a.** Change membership categories to replace individual and institutional memberships with professional membership. Motion was made and seconded by Karen Laljiani and Mary Ann Ruddock Brown. The motion passed.
- **b.** Clarify that election to TAIR positions and committees is restricted to professional members. Motion was made by Tom Martin and seconded by Leona Urbish to strike the change since it is stated elsewhere in the constitution/bylaws. The motion passed.
- **c.** Remove the time restriction on Data Advisory Committee service. Motion was made by Amy Bawcom and seconded by Crystal Braden. The motion passed
- d. Clarified the wording on the proposal distributed to members that the AIR forum registration fee reimbursement for TAIR best presentation recipient MAY be divided (rather than WILL be divided) among presenters if there is more than one presenter. Karen Liljiani moved and Joe Baumann seconded the motion. The motion passed by a show of hands (22 yea to 16 no).
- **e.** Correct typographical errors in bylaws section 6(d) and 6(i). The motion was made by Crystal Braden with a second by Dave Downing. The motion passed.

President Thompson introduced the Executive Committee and other committee reports.

2014-5 TAIR Executive Committee and other Committee Reports:

Secretary/Membership Report: TAIR Secretary Sue Herring reported there are 280 people registered for the conference and 22 additional members, for a total of

302 TAIR members as of February 20, 2014. This is the largest registration in our conference history.

Treasurer's Report: TAIR Treasurer Tracy Stegmair presented a copy of the Financial Report through February 15, 2014 and reported a balance to date of \$76,420.20. She explained the report does not include all expenditures and revenues for the TAIR 2014 conference and the balance will be adjusted once all expenses are finalized. A final report will be posted on the TAIR website once it is finalized.

Financial Review Committee Report: Jim O'Donnell reported that TAIR financial records are in order.

Data Advisory Committee: Vicky West introduced the members of TAIR DAC and shared that it has been a slow year so far. They plan to review the data dictionary.

Member at Large for Technology Report: Faron Kincheloe reported he worked on three projects this year: 1. implementing the RegOnline registration system, 2.cleaning and updating the TAIR website and 3.changing subscriptions to the TAIR_L listserv. All current TAIR members are subscribed to the listserv as well as any persons who had attended the two previous years. Current members are able to post messages to the listserv.

Member at Large for Professional Development Report: Tom Corll reported that the summer and pre-conference workshops are not only a means for professional development but are also a money-making opportunity. Over the past year professional development activities resulted in approximately \$10,000 income for the organization. At the summer 2013 workshop there were 61 non-duplicated participants. For the 2014 pre-conference workshops there were 105 non-duplicated participants.

Vice President/Program Committee Chair: TAIR Vice President/Program Committee Chair Lincoln Holmes began by recognizing and thanking the members of the TAIR Program Committee.

TAIR 2014 Program Committee

- Kara Larkin-Skinner, Concurrent Sessions
- Verna Dewees, General Sessions
- Vanessa Sansone, Special Interest Groups
- Lisa Haynes, Program Brochure
- Rick Leyva, Evaluations
- Rebecca Richter, Session Coordinators
- Phil Rhodes, Resource Fair
- Jessica Smith, Roundtables
- Mary Barton, Local Arrangements
- Pamela Johnson, Newsletter

Susan also thanked the members of the Executive Committee, presenters, facilitators and the hotel staff.

2014-6 Awards:

Past President Carol Tucker made the award presentations:

Best Presentation Award for TAIR 2013

Dr. Jason Simon, UNT, 'Gathering Direct Evidence of Student Engagement via ID Card System.

Outstanding Professional Practice Award – Best IR Website -- Del Mar College

2014-7 Election Results: President Susan Thompson thanked the Nominating Committee for a great slate of candidates, as well as all of the candidate volunteers. The TAIR 2014 election results are as follows:

Vice President/President Elect, Mary Barton, University of North Texas

Secretary, Lisa Haynes, Texas Woman's University

Member-at-Large Professional Development, David Brown, North Central Texas College

Nominating Committee, Tom Corll, Midland College

Nominating Committee, Sue Herring, Baylor University

Nominating Committee, Carol Larue, Southwest Texas Junior College

Nominating Committee, Martha O'Burn, Houston Community College

2014-8 Next Year's Conference: Kara Larkin-Skinner and Jessica Smith announced that next year's conference will be held at the Ambassador Hotel, in Amarillo, TX. on March 3-5, 2015.

2014-9 New President and Meeting Adjournment: Susan Thompson thanked everyone and passed the gavel to the new TAIR President, Lincoln Holmes.

2014-10 Addition/Removal of Signers on the TAIR Bank Account: Officers, Mary Barton (Vice President/President Elect) and Lincoln Holmes (President), will be added to the TAIR checking (xxx5142) held with Bank of America. Officer, Linda Perez (Past Treasurer), will be removed.

Susan Thompson adjourned the meeting at 3:55 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Sue Herring

Secretary