Texas Association for Institutional Research

32nd Annual Conference Minutes of the Annual Business Meeting Thursday, March 4, 2010 – 8:00 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. Hilton Hotel, Waco, Texas

2010-1 Call to Order: The meeting was called to order at 8:00 A.M. by President Allen Clark.

2010-2 Approval of the Minutes from the 2009 Business Meeting: Tom Martin made a motion to approve the 2009 Business Meeting minutes as presented in the attendee packet. The motion was seconded by Darline Morris. The motion passed unanimously.

2010-3 Comments from the TAIR President: President Allen Clark thanked the staff and servers at the Hilton Hotel and the vendors for their generous support, which contributed to a successful 2010 TAIR Conference.

President Allen Clark introduced the Executive Committee and other committee reports.

2010-4 TAIR Executive Committee and other Committee Reports:

- Secretary/Membership Report: TAIR Secretary Trish Norman reported there were 194 members registered for the conference and 13 additional members, totally 207 TAIR members as of March 4, 2010.
- Treasurer's Report: TAIR Treasurer Rick Leyva presented a copy of the Financial Report through February 25, 2010 and reported a revised balance to date of \$71,450.32. Rick explained the report does not include all expenditures and revenues for the TAIR 2010 Conference and the balance will be adjusted once all expenses are finalized. A final report will be presented at the next Executive Committee meeting.
- Financial Review Committee Report: Jim O'Donnell presented a report of the TAIR annual financial review certifying the organization's financial records. Tom Martin asked if the financial review was completed by a CPA and asked if there was a charge for the review. Jim reported there was no charge for the review and stated he was a state auditor and not a CPA. Tom suggested revising the Bylaws to allow for a financial review by someone other than a CPA. Maryann Ruddock commented that TAIR could lose tax exempt status if the Bylaws were not followed. Allen said the Bylaws would be reviewed and revised, possibly with the help of Past Presidents.
- Data Advisory Committee: Maryann Ruddock, outgoing Chair of TAIR DAC, reported the TAIR DAC committee is working closely with the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board and focusing on two major areas, data definitions and policy issues. There is now a section on the TAIR website for TAIR DAC reports and there are currently two reports summarizing race code changes. On April 14th, Maryann and Susan Brown will give a legislative staff briefing on the impact of the race code changes and reporting. Maryann is also on a special committee for Data Driven Education Policy

involving data from TEA, THECB and TWC. Maryann thanked Bao for giving TAIR DAC a presence on the TAIR website. She said there are several members going off the TAIR DAC committee and if anyone is interested in being a member they should send their name to Kristi Fisher. Kristi will also appoint a new chair for the committee. Allen thanked Maryann for her extensive work on the TAIR DAC committee.

- **Professional Development Report:** Paul Illich thanked the pre-conference workshop presenters and reported there were six pre-conference workshops with 74 people attending and 36 attended the IPEDS workshop. There were also for four summer workshops in Waco in August 2009 with over 30 people attending those workshops.
- Vice President/Program Committee Chair: TAIR Vice President/Program Committee Chair Kristi Fisher began by recognizing and thanking the members of the TAIR Program Committee.

TAIR 2010 Program Committee

- Gabriela Borcoman, Concurrent Sessions
- Mary Barton, General Sessions
- Kate Amorella, Special Interest Groups
- Johna May, Program Brochure
- Delton Moore, Evaluations
- Danielle Texera, Facilitators new role, split from concurrent sessions
- Marcelo Paredes (vendor contact) and Leroy Philbrook (vendor setup),
 Resource Fair
- Carol Tucker, Roundtables
- Sue Herring, Local Arrangements

Kristi also thanked presenters for their involvement and President Allen Clark for helping out with the conference preparation.

Kristi reported that next year's TAIR conference will be February 15-18, 2011 at the Sheraton Hotel in Austin, Texas. The location is close to downtown and UT Austin campus. Lincoln Holmes, UT Austin, will Chair Local Arrangements.

- **Newsletter/Publications Report:** Allen thanked Linda Perez who has worked behind the scenes to produce the newsletter for the past two years.
- **Technology/Listserv Report:** Bao thanked Sue Herring and staff, Executive Committee members and Texas State Technical College for providing projectors and extra screens, the staff at the Hilton and the staff at McClennan Community College for helping with technology set up for the conference and the workshops. He also thanked Brian Cordeau for answering questions and helping him transition to his new role. He suggested members look at additions to the TAIR website. He asked members to send him post conference presentations and encouraged members to get involved.

2010-5 Awards:

Outstanding Service Award: Joe reported the TAIR Awards Committee unanimously agreed to award Dr. Verna Dewees of Texas A&M University System, the TAIR Outstanding Service Award. The award was presented to Verna at her retirement ceremony in College Station.

Best Presentation will be finalized and announced in a few weeks. The winner(s) will give their presentation (representing TAIR) and will receive complete registration to the AIR conference in May, 2010.

Factbook Awards:

- Factbook printed Houston Community College
- Mini Factbook Texas Tech University
- Online/Interactive Del Mar College

Outgoing Officers: Past President Joe Meyer presented awards for outgoing officers.

- Trish Norman, Secretary
- Paul Illich, Member-at-Large, Professional Development
- Joe Meyer, Past President

2010-6 Election Results: President Allen Clark thanked the Nominating Committee for a great slate of candidates, as well as all of the candidate volunteers. The TAIR 2010 election results were:

- Vice President/President Elect, Darline Morris, Texas State Technical College
- **Secretary,** Kate Amorella, Texas Woman's University
- Member-at-Large Professional Development, Susan Thompson, Texas State University
- Nominating Committee, Tom Corll, Midland College
- Nominating Committee, Linda Perez, San Jacinto College District
- Nominating Committee, Leroy Philbrook, University of Texas-Pan American
- Nominating Committee, Karen Laljani, El Centro College

2010-7 New President and Meeting Adjournment: Allen Clark thanked everyone for a "fantastic conference" and passed the gavel to the new TAIR President, Kristi Fisher. Door prizes were awarded. Maryann Ruddock made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Leroy Philbrook seconded the motion and everyone unanimously agreed. The meeting was adjourned at 8:35 A.M.

Respectfully submitted,

Trish Norman Secretary